J.R. Mathis: The Penitent Priest

The Penitent Priest
A Father Tom Mystery – Book 1

A wife murdered.
A killer at large.
A man of God with a painful secret.

When Tom Greer’s wife Joan was murdered and her killer never caught, he left Myerton determined to leave the painful memories behind. Ten years later, now-Father Tom Greer returns as the temporary pastor of Saint Clare’s Parish in Myerton–where he married and mourned his wife. Assigned there for four months, Father Tom’s only desire is to serve God’s people quietly then leave again. He has no desire to revisit the past.

But the past won’t leave Father Tom alone…

Secrets uncovered and a mysterious encounter in the confessional forces Father Tom to confront painful truths about Joan and her murder. When a police detective–a woman from Father Tom’s own past–refuses to reopen the case, he decides to take matters into his own hands.

It turns out to be a fateful decision, for Father Tom has secrets of his own…

Fans of Father Brown and PBS’s Masterpiece series Grantchester will love this first book in a new mystery series featuring Father Tom Greer.

PRE-ORDER BOOK #2 in the series: The Framed Father


 

James Mathis lives in Hyattsville, Maryland with his wife of 28 years, Susan. He has three grown children and seven grandchildren. He has worked for the federal government for 21 years.  This is his first published novel.

Where to find J.R. Mathis
Website | Amazon | Facebook


BOOK DEAL: Dining at a Distance
Author: ACF Bookens

Related Posts